#### INFORMATION REGARDING TRANSFERRING OR UPDATING YOUR DRIVER'S LICENSE

# Out-of-State Drivers Transferring to Kentucky (excluding non-US citizens)

- Persons moving into Kentucky have 30 days to obtain a Kentucky Driver's License.
- To obtain a Kentucky Driver's License you must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident of this country.
- You must be at least 16 years of age to transfer your driving permit or license to Kentucky.
- If under age 18, must present a School Compliance Verification Form signed by the out-of-state school (reference: No Pass/No Drive Law). This form can be obtained from the student's school district of residence.
- All Kentucky Driver's Licenses are issued in the <u>Circuit Court Clerk's office</u> in the Kentucky county of residence.
- Proof of residency in Kentucky is required. For more information regarding acceptable proof, please contact the <u>Circuit Court Clerk's office</u> in the Kentucky county of residence.
- Your valid out-of-state license and <u>Social Security card</u> (photocopies are not accepted) must be presented to the <u>Circuit Court Clerk</u>. You may also be required to present a <u>birth certificate</u> (original or certified, photocopies are not accepted).
  If the name on your valid out of state license does not match the name on your <u>birth certificate</u>, you may be required to present a marriage certificate or a court ordered name change.
- If your out-of-state license is valid when you transfer to Kentucky, you will not be required to test. If your out of state license has expired, you will be required to take the written and eye tests.
- If your out-of-state license is expired one (1) year or more, you must provide a current driving record or clearance letter from the state you are transferring from.
- Out-of-State permit holders transferring to Kentucky must transfer their permit and be issued a Kentucky permit before applying for a Kentucky Driver's License.
- The type of license you apply for will determine the cost.

## Here is information regarding updating your license when your name or address changes:

### **Name or Address Change**

- Anytime you change a name or address you must get a duplicate license at your <u>Circuit Court Clerk's office</u> within days.
- The cost of a duplicate is \$12.00.
- Proof of residency in Kentucky is required. For more information regarding acceptable proof please contact your local Circuit Court Clerk's office.
- Proof of a name change is required. (<u>Birth Certificate</u>, Name Change Court Order, Marriage License, Divorce Decree, or other legal document)
- <u>Social Security card</u> is not acceptable as proof of name or address change. However, you must provide a new <u>Social Security card</u> with your new name to prove you have updated your name with the Social Security Administration.

### **CAMPBELL COUNTY CLERK'S OFFICE:**

NEWPORT BRANCH: 330 YORK STREET, NEWPORT, KY 41071 PHONE: 859 292-6311

ALEXANDRIA BRANCH: 8330 W. MAIN STREET, ALEXANDRIA, KY 41001 PHONE: 859 635-5240

#### PENDLETON COUNTY CLERK'S OFFICE:

FALMOUTH BRANCH: 233 MAIN STREET, FALMOUTH, KY 41040 PHONE: 859 654-3380