# CAMPBELL COUNTY & MUNICIPAL BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT MINUTES OF THE NOVEMBER 21, 2017 MEETING

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Mr. John Fessler Ms. Sharon Haynes, TPO Mr. Joseph Williams Mr. Roger Mason, Vice Chair Mr. Scott Bachmann, Chair

### STAFF PRESENT:

Ms. Cynthia Minter, Director Mr. Kirk Hunter, Principal Planner Mr. Michael Duncan, Legal Counsel Ms. Stephanie Turner, Recording Secretary

## **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

**STAFF ABSENT:** 

Mr. Justin Verst Mr. Michael Williams

### Meeting Called To Order

Mr. Bachmann called the meeting to order at 7:02 PM and asked everyone to stand and face the flag for the Pledge of Allegiance. Following roll call, a quorum was found to be present. Following roll call, a quorum was found to be present. Mr. Bachmann advised the Board that the purpose of the meeting tonight was to approve minutes from previous 2017 meetings. With that Mr. Bachmann asked if everyone had read the May 16, 2017 meeting minutes and if there were any questions or corrections. Mr. Fessler advised the Board that he was present at the May 16<sup>th</sup> meeting although Ms. Turner indicated he was not. After a brief review, it was determined that Mr. Fessler did vote "Yes" on all votes that evening. There being no comments or corrections, Mr. Bachmann called for a motion. Mr. Mason made a motion to approve the minutes as corrected. Ms. Haynes seconded the motion. Mr. Bachmann called for a roll call vote. A roll call vote found Mr. Fessler, Ms. Haynes, Mr. Mason and Mr. Bachmann in favor. Mr. J. Williams abstained. Motion passed.

Mr. Bachmann asked if everyone had read the October 12, 2017 special meeting minutes and if there were any questions or corrections. There being no comments or corrections, Mr. Bachmann called for a motion. Mr. Mason made a motion to approve the minutes as submitted. Mr. Fessler seconded the motion. Mr. Bachmann called for a roll call vote. A roll call vote found Mr. Fessler, Mr. J. Williams, Mr. Mason and Mr. Bachmann in favor. Ms. Haynes abstained. Motion passed.

There being no cases on the agenda tonight, Mr. Bachmann made a motion for the Campbell County & Municipal Board of Adjustment to into a closed Executive Session under KRS 61.810, Section One, Subsection C (KRS 61.810(1)(c)) to discuss litigation involving the Board. Mr. Mason seconded the motion. Mr. Bachmann called for a roll call vote. A roll call vote found Mr. Fessler, Mr. J. Williams, Ms. Haynes, Mr. Mason and Mr. Bachmann in favor. No one abstained. Motion passed. The Board went into closed session at 7:13 PM.

Mr. Bachmann called for a motion to leave the closed Executive Session. Mr. Mason made a motion to leave the closed Executive Session. Ms. Haynes seconded the motion. Mr. Bachmann called for a roll call vote. An oral vote found Mr. Fessler, Mr. J. Williams, Mr. M. Williams, Mr. Mason and Mr. Bachmann in favor of the motion. No one abstained. Motion passed. The Board left the closed session at 7:55 PM.

Mr. Bachmann asked if there was a Director's Report for this evening. Ms. Minter replied she had no report for the Board. Mr. Bachmann asked if there were any items for discussion among the Board. Ms. Haynes asked if there was an update to the Home Based Business regulations. Ms.

Minter advised the Board that the Planning & Zoning Commission did make changes to the Home Based Business regulations for the Unincorporated Campbell County only late last year. This text change has not been adopted by any of the cities at this time and only affected the Residential Rural Estates (R-RE) and Agriculture One (A-1) Zones in the Unincorporated Campbell County.

Mr. Bachmann asked if there were any other comments, questions or points for discussion among the Board. There being none, Mr. Bachmann called for a motion to adjourn. Mr. J. Williams made a motion to adjourn. Ms. Haynes seconded the motion. Mr. Bachmann called for an oral vote. An oral vote found Mr. Fessler, Mr. J. Williams, Ms. Haynes, Mr. Mason and Mr. Bachmann in favor of the motion. No one abstained. Motion passed.

The meeting adjourned at 7:59 PM.

Prepared by:

Approved:

Cynthia Minter Director Scott Bachmann Chair